Draft Graphic Design Project

draft-graphic-design-projectAs mentioned previously on my blog, part of my job in terms of outreach for my department’s division is about energy conservation. I really wanted to do something that brings awareness to it. So, I started with doing a keyword search for background images that dealt with energy.

I wanted to create an image that could be used for the division’s website, social media and could also be inserted into our division newsletter that’s emailed and printed for distribution. After looking for a while and searching different variations related to energy, I stumbled upon a light bulb background and knew it was a good start to creating something with it.

I liked it because it had great use of the “Rule of Thirds” with the bulb on the left vertical line. That allowed opportunity for me to use the open space on the right-hand side for other elements. I also loved the darkness of the entire image so I could use the inverse (lighter) colors for text.

As for the three smaller pictures – I took those myself. I used a macro focus on all three and tried to use a neutral background to not take away from the object itself. Using one of the tips from one of our readings on digital photography composition, I adjusted the aperture to blur the background of the photo. While it was all neutral backgrounds, I really wanted the objects to be in focus because I knew how I was going to use them.

Working on the Gestalt Theory of proximity – I grouped all three photos together on the right-hand side of the canvas. I had the idea to spread them out but it just looked cleaner and they grouped well together with them lined up. Then the text next to them would line up better as well, looking like a list format instead of just haphazardly placed on the canvas.

From the Layer Masks Photoshop tutorial, I used it to make the three perfectly square boxes to insert the three images in them. I even used the “group layers” option and then duplicated the group to make it much easier and faster to create the three photo boxes.

In terms of the title, it just worked out to put it on the bottom. I had all this space with the background image and with the placement of the light bulb it seemed to make aesthetically more sense to place on the bottom instead of the top. I used a ruler guide (again, from what I learned from the Layer Masks tutorial) so that I could snap a perfect rectangle on the bottom to create a filled box with a lot of opacity. That rule tip really came in hand for this one.

That was pretty much it for the project. Simple and straightforward – in my experience with outreach, it’s the best way to the get a message across.

Photo credit: Lightbulb background image from Pixabay:
https://pixabay.com/en/background-texture-lightbulb-flask-1753684/

4 thoughts on “Draft Graphic Design Project

  1. Matt

    Jessica,
    Well done. As you said in your blog, simple and straight forward. I think your work does a good job of getting the message across without any distractions. Your selection of text font and color stands out from the dark background and catches the eye. Is the similarity in color between the text and timer intentional? It lends to the visual unity I think.
    I’m have difficulty coming up with two improves which aren’t just preferences. Something to consider is background of the power strip photo. The other two insert photos have dark backgrounds while the power strip is lighter. Changing it to a dark color might increases the link between the three and over all unity.
    The only other advice I might give is to include the name, contact information or hashtag of your organization. I realize you might not want to do this for the academic version, but for a final draft you may want to credit your organization.
    Solid design work!
    – Matt

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carleigh Coug

    Hello Jessica-

    I really like your piece because it resonates with me. One thing I noticed was that you used the abbreviation of CFL which maybe should be a well known (and I do recognize the bulb design you are recommending), but I was totally unaware of what that was. Maybe you could change that to energy efficient bulb, or use a more generic term? The first thing that drew my eye to your piece was that you had two light bulbs that you used (one being the example of energy and the second being what is the proper bulb you are recommending people should use) I wonder if there is a way to represent energy savings without showing a blub you are discouraging using. Overall I love your color choice and how you grouped your images it made it very easy to see your concept right away.

    Overall I love you piece!

    ~Carleigh

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Jess,
    Your concept is really neat. Prior to viewing your design, I was unfamiliar with some of the simpler methods one could do to conserve power and I think you established this. I like how the focal point is a bulb where the background is black. It adds definition to the object and allows the image the opportunity to stand out. Another thing I enjoyed is how you placed the corresponding images on the right side of the piece giving the viewer an opportunity to really assess your message.

    My first suggestion is to adjust the font to more serif style concerning your three tips. With the blub and other objects being curvier I think a serif style font will heighten the movement to your piece and really give the eye a flowing direction of where to go. I also think it will allow for your title to stand out more and emphasize the objective.

    My other suggestion would be to define what CFL is. As someone who is unfamiliar with what types of bulbs there are I’m left focusing on the CFL trying to figure out what that actually means. You did a good job by providing an example of one, I just think it will allow individuals looking at this who have no knowledge of this area a little more info.

    I think overall you did a great job in laying out the design and selecting the right images to achieve your goal, but think the suggestions above will give it that extra push to have the reader stop and really take in all the useful information you’re providing with your design.

    -Travis

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great feedback from my group members. I thought about it over the weekend as well and agree with Matt that there can be some “point to” reference on the design. I can add a URL for more info on there. Possibly below the light bulb.

    Charleigh mentioned about the background image of a light bulb then referenced the CFL on the list. I can see how the two images can give mixed messages and will look into other backgrounds that I could consider to change out with.

    Both Carleigh and Travis mentioned about the CFL bulb and what it means. That was an oversight on my part and I can definitely spell out the acronym for better understanding. I think it might be a bit challenging to fit all the text in the given space so I may have to play around there with the font size or font type.

    Speaking of the font type, Travis also recommended to play around with a serif font for the list. I was thinking the exact same thing after I had read the optional typography reading and will change to serif font for added design value.

    Lastly, Matt also commented about how the background image of the power strip picture and suggests having it be a similar background of the other two photos so they blend well together. I like that idea and it’s an edit I can do for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

